Alhambra Civic Center Library

Your Starting Place

Education

Available during the Library closure, Abdo Primary has ebooks for grades PreK-6.  Begnning readers, picture books, chapter books and more--all available digitally.  Username: abdo-elementary  Password: 072020
Available during the Library closure, Abdo Digital Bookshelf for grades 5-12 offers chapter books, graphic novels, fiction, nonfiction, and YA titles all available digitally.  Username: abdo-secondary Password: 072020
Available during the Library closure, Abdo Zoom has online research for beginning readers.  Learn about animals, people, places, and more! User Name: abdo-zoom Password: 072020
Available during the Library closure, Audiobook Cloud is an all ages online audio book library collection with unlimited streaming access.  Nothing to download or install, no holds or waiting periods.  Just click and listen!
The Braille Institute offers free talking book and periodical services, book and periodical titles in Braille, descriptive videos, and other services to eligible library users.
Estudiantes! Busca biografícas e información sobre lugares y cosas. Mira los videos y animaciones para aprender más. Encuentra respuestas rápdias y auda con la tarea. Descubre mapas, fotos e ilustraciones para proyectos escolares.  Y mucho más! 
Britannica School is the go-to site for learning more about any subject—for all grades and all reading abilities.  It offers thousands of up-to-date, curated, and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, recommended Web sites, and three separate databases for Elementary, Middle, and High School students.
A series of research resources designed for quick reference for students in grades 4 through 8. California Fact Cards covers California, United States, and World topics included in the social studies curriculum of California.
Are you preparing for a professional exam? Are you curious about a particular occupation or looking to improve your workplace skills? Choose the Career Preparation Center and begin your path to a bright future.
CareerOneStop is your source for employment information and inspiration. It has tools to help job seekers, students, businesses and career professionals, and is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor. 
Getting into college is an important step to building a strong future. First, you must do well on your college admission tests and write a personal essay that highlights your special talents. Use this center to get the resources you need to achieve your college preparation goals.
The College Center provides valuable resources that help college students strengthen their academic skills, prepare for placement tests, and get ready for graduate school entrance exams.
Video courses are the fastest and easiest way to learn how to use a computer. Use the materials in the Computer Skills Center to learn the basics of computers, from searching the Internet to using popular software programs for word processing, creating spreadsheets and databases, implementing design and more.
CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Reports are written by experienced journalists, and are footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.
Explora Primary School helps elementary school children K-14 find database information for reports and research.
Explora Secondary School helps middle school and high school students with reports and research.
Funk and Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia is a general encyclopedia covering a wide variety of topics. 
Available during the Library closure, Gale In Context: College offers interdisciplinary content for undergraduate students that reinforces skill development in problem-solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.
Available during the Library closure, Gale in Context: Elementary introduces elementary school students to database searching with easy-to-use resources featuring age-appropriate, reliable, curriculum-related content covering a broad range of educational topics.
Available during the Library closure, Gale In Context: High School provides grades 9–12 with content aligned to national and state curriculum standards to help with papers, projects, and presentations, while empowering student development of critical thinking and information literacy skills.
Available during the Library closure, Gale In Context: Middle School combines reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and more for students in middle grades.
Earning a high school equivalency credential can open the door to better income, a more fulfilling job, and a college education. If you are preparing for the GED® test, HiSET® or TASC exams, the High School Equivalency Center's practice tests, interactive tutorials, and e-books will help you reach your goal.
Whether you’re looking to find a new job in your current field or pursue a career in an exciting new industry, Job & Career Accelerator has the powerful tools and expert guidance to help you through every step of the process to succeed in today's job market. Don't wait. Get started now!
LearningExpress Library features online tutorials, practice tests, and e-books to help patrons of all ages. It offers job search and workplace skills improvement, skill building in reading, writing, math, and basic science, career certification and licensure exam prep, college and grad school entrance test prep, GED® test prep, and more.
Legal Information Reference Center contains hundreds of full-text publications and thousands of legal forms. The full-text legal reference books are provided through NOLO, the nation's oldest and most respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses. Search this database and browse many top consumer-interest areas of law, including: business law, financial planning, family law, property and real estate, immigration and travel, patents, copyright and trademarks, wills and estate planning and rights and disputes.
MagillOnLiterature Plus offers biographical information on over 1,500 authors of fiction, poetry, drama, and philosophy as well as editorially- reviewed critical analyses and plot summaries of the most studied works in the history of literature.
Mango is an online language learning system that teaches real conversation skills for practical communication. Through fun and engaging interactive lessons, Mango makes learning a new language fast, easy and incredibly effective.
MasterFILE Complete contains full-text articles covering general reference, business, education, science, and much more.  In addition, MasterFILE Premier also provides access to biographies, full-text reference books, primary source documents, as well as a collection of photos, maps, and flags.
Available during the Library closure, Miss Humblebee's Academy is an interactive kindergarten-readiness program that introduces children ages three to six to key concepts in math, science, social studies, language and literacy, art, and music. It’s as challenging as it is fun!
Read popular books online about the Missions of California using Follett's digital reader. The user name and password are both "Missions".
Complimentary access to the New York Times online. Register with your email address and password and enjoy all the New York Times digital content--including free access to the New York Times app. Access at the library on your own device while connected to the Library's wi-fi, or use one of our public computers.  When away from the library, use the home link to activate a code for free access for 24 hours. You can click the link below for a new code every 24 hours.  
Herramientas de aprendizaje, carrera y ciudadanía en español. Este centro ofrece a los adultos que están muy ocupados los recursos para mejorar sus habilidades básicas, ganar sus credenciales de GED® o ser ciudadano estadounidense.
The resources in the School Center provide skill-building for classroom and homework success. The school center helps students in elementary, middle, and high school prepare for important tests, get extra help with assignments, and boost their skills in important subjects.
TeachingBooks.net provides a suite of instructional resources including multimedia content to complement children's and young adult books. Resources include audiobook readings, author videos, book discussion guides and lesson plans for over 40,000 books in English and Spanish. To log in, use these credentials: User name: alhambra Password: teachingbooksK12library
Available during the Library emergency closure, Teen Book Cloud is an ebook and audiobook database for grades 7-12.  Featuring fiction, nonfiction, graphic novels, videos and AP English guides, there's something for everyone in Teen Book Cloud
Tuition Funding Sources is a website designed to help students find scholarships, college and career information. TFS offers students the largest scholarship database in the world with over $41 billion in scholarship awards along with a career personality test and detailed college and career information.
An online collection of TumbleBooks – animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they'll love. TumbleBooks are created by adding animation, sound, music, and narration to existing picture books in order to produce an electronic picture book which you can read, or have read to you.
Available during the Library emergency closure, TumbleMath is a K-6 math ebook database with activities, quizzes, and more.  
USA Learns free online citizen course helps you prepare for all parts of the naturalization interview.  Includes lessons on the steps required for citizenship, as well as vocabulary, grammar, reading, writing, listening, and speaking.  Just create an account to get started today!